上纽ICA是一个通过艺术分享想法的地方。

“100号房间”开幕 & 作品研习一,与艺术家段英梅。 上海纽约大学美术馆,2019年2月21日。摄影:杨含霜。

使命

open

上海纽约大学当代艺术中心是一所非营利性的艺术馆和研究中心,致力于通过当代艺术来发展、呈现和交流不同的观点。

作为上海纽约大学的一部分,我们高度认同并积极推动大学在教学、研究与公共服务方面的使命,并秉持一个核心理念——与艺术的交流互动,能在不同学科、社会及日常生活中激发批判性思维、创造力以及对复杂性的开放包容。

上海纽约大学当代艺术中心将与艺术家以及所在社区一起,以两年为一个周期,通过公共展览、活动以及各类出版物等多种形式进行主题性探索,对我们理解世界、存在于世界的方式,以及我们与自身和与世界的关系开展多样的尝试。

愿景

open

在上海纽约大学当代艺术中心创建的首个五年(2019-2024)里,我们的愿景是“建构一个机构”,这一想法源于“institute”一词的双重含义(动词“建构”和名词“机构”)。在这一激动人心的初创时刻,我们不仅有创造新事物的机会,还可以探索建构一个机构所涉及的各种形式与方法。

通过“建构一个机构”,上海纽约大学当代艺术中心旨在:

  • 在中国大陆创建一个独特的跨学科、研究型的艺术项目发展模式;
  • 突破“博物馆创建”的常规思路,随着时间的推移,让场馆的基础设施和艺术项目紧密融合、有机衔接;
  • 秉承并发扬上海纽约大学一直以来的教育、研究和为公众服务的使命。

通过将“当代艺术”作为我们建构的对象,上海纽约大学当代艺术中心相信:

  • 应该从同时代的艺术家们身上学习。他们既关注当下,又不断发明新的工具来探察历史、想象未来;
  • 应该借鉴当代艺术的反思性和多元性,与不同学科合作,运用多元的物质材料。
  • 应该推动基于图像和物件的展览,和逻各斯中心主义的公共活动和出版物等研究形式的发展。

历史

open

上海纽约大学由纽约大学和华东师范大学于2012年合作创办,是中国第一所中美合办的研究型大学。上海纽约大学美术馆在三年后建成,并成为中国为数不多的致力于当代艺术的大学艺术机构。尽管美术馆空间有限,所属母机构创办时间不长,但其项目是具有宏大远见的,已展出一系列不同艺术家的作品。在创始馆长林倩离开后,美术馆进入了两年中断期。

2019年,上海纽约大学美术馆更名为上海纽约大学当代艺术中心,秉承新的使命和愿景,注入新的活力,重新对公众开放。上海纽约大学当代艺术中心将延续上海纽约大学美术馆的宏图并进一步拓展目标,注重实验与创新,深入探索、理解艺术和展览这两者对于研究的意义,并向同时代的艺术家学习。

人员

open

玄莲昊
馆长
michelle.hyun@nyu.edu

朱思聪
助理策展人
iris.zhu@nyu.edu

包旸
策展助理
ybao@nyu.edu

2023秋季-2024春季实习生:
张奕颖
张舒涵

2024年夏季展览展厅助理:
白思慧
胡奕菲
王凯蒂
杨宪宪
郑烁
赵颖如

公共关系和媒体咨询请联系:
iris.zhu@nyu.edu
+86 21 2059 5035

工作机会

open

实习生招聘

上纽 ICA 的实习岗位面向在读或即将入学的本科生及研究生,实习生将参与上纽 ICA 相关展览和活动的执行工作。通过在上纽 ICA 的学习,实习生将全面了解高校美术馆的运作方式,同时也将获得在非营利性艺术机构工作的相关经验。实习生也将有机会了解本土和全球的当代艺术生态,并收获关于当代艺术策展的一手知识。实习生向馆长直接汇报,日常工作将配合策展助理和助理策展人共同开展,并协助艺术馆的项目和运营。

我们提供两种实习计划:

计划一:半年制实习(春—秋 / 秋—春)

长期实习项目每年两次,实习时间为4月到9月,以及10月到次年3月。在长期实习项目中,实习生将完整体验展览从无到有的所有阶段,包括展览筹备、展陈设计、展览搭建、开幕式接待、展览维护和展览活动的执行。

计划二:季节性实习(春 / 夏 / 秋)

短期实习项目每年三次,分别是1月到5月(春季),6月到8月(夏季),以及9月到12月(秋季)。在短期实习中,根据不同的展览计划,实习生将参与相应阶段的工作,比如,参与展览和相关活动的筹备与执行工作,以及当前展览的维护工作。

实习申请持续开放中。关于该实习岗位的具体要求,请见:实习生招聘要求

scroll to top

The ICA at NYU Shanghai is a place for sharing ideas through art.

ROOM 100 opening reception & Study Session 1 with Yingmei DUAN. NYU Shanghai Art Gallery, 21 February 2019. PHOTO: Hanshuang YANG. 

mission

open

The Institute of Contemporary Arts at NYU Shanghai is a non-profit kunsthalle and research center committed to the development, presentation, and exchange of diverse ideas through contemporary arts.

Our commitment aligns with the mission of NYU Shanghai, dedicated to education, research, and public service, and is based on a core belief that engagement with art engenders critical thought, creativity, and openness to complexity, across disciplines and society and in everyday life.

Every two years, together with artists and our surrounding communities, the ICA at NYU Shanghai pursues thematic inquiries through public exhibitions, events, and publications that experiment with ways of knowing, being, and relating to ourselves and the world.

vision

open

In our first five years (2019-24), our vision for the ICA at NYU Shanghai is “Instituting an Institute," which draws inspiration from the dual meaning of the word “institute” as both a verb and a noun.  In this truly exciting moment for the ICA at NYU Shanghai, we have the opportunity not only to make something new, but to also experiment with the form and the means of making an institution.

By “instituting an institute,” the ICA at NYU Shanghai seeks to: 

  • initiate a distinct and unique model of transdisciplinary research-oriented arts programming within mainland China;
  • invert the dominant logic of “museum building” by first cohering institutional infrastructure and a legacy of programs over time; 
  • support the ongoing mission of NYU Shanghai to educate, research, and serve our publics.

By naming “contemporary arts” as our object of institution, the ICA at NYU Shanghai believes in:

  • learning from artists who live and work in our shared time, but who also invent new tools with which to examine the past and imagine our future;
  • modeling the reflexivity and plurality of art being made today, which collaborates with a variety of disciplines, objects, and materials;
  • advancing image and object-based forms of exhibitions (as well as logo-centric forms of public programs and publications) as a mode of research.

history

open

Founded in 2012 by New York University and East China Normal University, NYU Shanghai is China’s first Sino-US research university.  Three years later, the NYU Shanghai Art Gallery was established as one of the few university-affiliated art institutions in China to focus on contemporary art.  Though the Gallery began with a modest space and nascent parent institution, its program was nevertheless ambitious and presented work by a broad range of artists.  Following the departure of founding director LIN Qian, the Gallery went into a two-year hiatus.  

In 2019, the university art gallery of NYU Shanghai reopened to the public with a new mission and reinvigorated vision as the Institute of Contemporary Arts at NYU Shanghai.  The ICA at NYU Shanghai builds upon the earlier ambitions of the Gallery, while expanding our aims to emphasize experimentation, to further understand art and exhibition-making as a form of research, and to learn from artists living and working today.  

people

open

Michelle Yeonho Hyun 
Director/Curator
michelle.hyun@nyu.edu

Iris Sicong Zhu
Curatorial Assistant
iris.zhu@nyu.edu

Fall 2019 Interns:
Michelle I Teng Ho
Zhuangjing Wang 

For public relations and media inquiries:
shanghai.press@nyu.edu

opportunities

open

Internships

Advanced students interested in gaining deeper experience in the operation and programming of a university-affiliated arts institution are invited to apply for internships for Fall, Spring, and Summer seasons. For further information and to apply online, follow NYU Shanghai’s official recruitment WeChat “上海纽约大学员工招聘” and select “加入我们” at the bottom left corner, then select “实习机会” and follow the instructions to apply through shixiseng.com

Student Workers

NYU Shanghai students, or NYU New York and NYU Abu Dhabi students studying away in Shanghai, interested in gaining introductory experience in the field of art are invited to apply for various student worker positions during Fall and Spring seasons.  For further information and to apply online, visit Handshake and search for “Institute of Contemporary Arts at NYU Shanghai”. 

scroll to top